Immigration under the Coalition Government: looking back, moving forward

18 May 2011 - House of Commons

A meeting reviewing immigration policy under the Coalition Government between May 2010 and April 2011, including the cap on economic immigration, reform of the international student route, and further planned changes to the immigration system.


  • Jack Dromey MP (Lab)
  • Tom Brake MP (Lib Dem)
  • Gerry Sutcliffe MP (Shadow Immigration Minister)
  • Shami Chakrabarti (Liberty)
  • Dr Martin Ruhs (MAC)

Also in attendance:

  • Jim Shannon MP (DUP)
  • Lord Boswell (Con)
  • Gerard Batten MEP (UKIP)
  • Jean Lambert MEP (Green)